- Reset + PDFPrint

The President of the Republic appointed three new ministers to office


"I hope that now, half a year after the elections, the Government of the Republic will work effectively, at full speed and in unison," said the President, Toomas Hendrik Ilves, who made some changes to the Government of the Republic at the proposal of the Prime Minister by appointing Hannes Hanso into office as Minister of Defence, Jevgeni Ossinovski as Minister of Health and Labour and Liisa Oviir as Minister of Entrepreneurship.

The Head of State released the current ministers, Sven Mikser, Rannar Vassiljev and Urve Palo, from their duties.

"The functions of the new ministers include participation in the work of the Council of the European Union in Brussels, which is particularly important considering today's difficult and complicated times. This is required to explain and defend the positions and opinions of Estonia. Unfortunately, this has not been a part of the agenda of all ministers to date," said President Ilves.

Office of the President
Public Relations Department