President Toomas Hendrik IIves named the new Government of the Republic in observing the provisions and general concept of the Constitution. The Head of State met with the ministers of the new Government; according to the coalition agreement, these positions were filled with representatives of the Reform Party, the Social Democratic Party and the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union.

He reminded the new coalition that it has 59 votes in the Riigikogu and added: "I do hope that you will become a responsible majority that observes the principles of statesmanship. For everything to work effectively, we need broad-based co-operation that is characterised by a good rapport within the coalition and between the coalition and the opposition."

As he did at his post-election meetings with the leaders of the parliamentary parties, President Ilves mentioned improving the living standards of people and their ability to cope, security and national defence, education and research policies, finding solutions to the demographic problems and enhancing economic competitiveness and state governance reforms as the main tasks that Estonia and its population has to face when appointing the new Government to office.

"Any decisions taken in these spheres must look to the future; everyday policies must not distort our vision of the big picture," emphasised the Head of State.

President Ilves sees the successful organisation of the Presidency of the European Union in 2018 as the biggest test for the Government since the efforts we made in 1997-2003 in becoming members of the European Union and NATO.

"This will require competence and commitment. Languor and a passive attitude have no place here," said the Head of State.

He also stated that "the new Government has no reason to fear boredom or lack of work, nor will there be any time for a honeymoon period", and he wished the ministers success.

The Prime Minister of the new Government is Taavi Rõivas; the following persons make up the cabinet: Minister of Enterprise Urve Palo, Minister of Education and Research Jürgen Ligi, Minister of Justice Urmas Reinsalu, Minister of Defence Sven Mikser, Minister of the Environment Marko Pomerants, Minister of Culture Indrek Saar, Minister of Rural Affairs Urmas Kruuse, Minister of the Economic Affairs and Infrastructure Kristen Michal, Minister of Finance Sven Sester, Minister of Public Administration Arto Aas, Minister of Internal Affairs Hanno Pevkur, Minister of Social Protection Margus Tsahkna, Minister of Health and Labour Rannar Vassiljev, and Minister of Foreign Affairs Keit Pentus-Rosimannus.

The new Government will swear an oath tomorrow morning at the Riigikogu.

Office of the President Public Relations Department