The President, Toomas Hendrik Ilves, signed a resolution in Kadriorg today to give the diplomatic rank of ambassador to Tiina Intelmann, Kaja Tael, Jaak Jõerüüt and Matti Maasikas, who have given extended and outstanding service to the Estonian foreign service.

Tiina Intelmann, Kaja Tael, Jaak Jõerüüt and Matti Maasikas, who have served as ambassadors or in key positions in our Ministry of Foreign Affairs, are influential diplomats with extensive experience of foreign relations and affairs.

The diplomatic rank of ambassador is an honorary title given to career diplomats in the name of the Republic of Estonia for their work in foreign relations and their outstanding and extraordinary results in foreign service. The diplomatic rank of ambassador is given by the President of the Republic for lifetime at the proposal of the Government, who in turn received the respective request from the Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Office of the President Public Relations Department Phone +372 631 6229